Mini London Marathon by means of the years


Keely Hodgkinson and Jake Wightman are simply two of many well-known faces who’ve taken half within the Mini London Marathon

The TCS Mini London Marathon is again as soon as once more as 7000 youngsters take to the streets of London on October 1, forward of the principle occasion a day later.

The younger athletes will obtain £10 every for varsity gear and if that wasn’t sufficient inspiration, world males’s marathon record-holder Eliud Kipchoge will current the medals on the finish of the races, simply six days after breaking his personal mark in Berlin.

As reported in AW, TCS London Marathon director Hugh Brasher believes the Mini London Marathon can characteristic the identical variety of entries (50,000) in eight years’ time when London celebrates its fiftieth anniversary.

The Mini Marathon has at all times been the pre-cursor to the principle occasion and is damaged down into numerous races over 2.6km and, this yr, one mile.

READ MORE: Large plans for the Mini Marathon

The children will get to race on the ultimate part of the particular TCS London Marathon course.

Over time, many family names began out within the race.

Listed here are some athletes you may recognise…

Keely Hodgkinson – pictured within the Mini Marathon in 2017 

  • Olympic 800m silver medallist (2021)
  • World 800m silver medallist (2022)
  • European 800m champion (2022)
  • European Indoor 800m champion (2021)
  • Diamond League 800m champion  (2021)
  • British 800m indoor and outside record-holder

Keely Hodgkinson (Mark Shearman)

Jake Wightman – pictured within the Mini Marathon in 2009 

  • World 1500m champion (2022)
  • European 800m silver medallist (2022)
  • European 1500m bronze medallist (2018)
  • Double Commonwealth bronze medallist (2018 and 2022)

Jake Wightman (Mark Shearman)

Laura Muir – pictured within the Mini Marathon in 2010 

  • Olympic 1500m silver medallist (2021)
  • World 1500m bronze medallist (2022)
  • Double European 1500m champion (2018 and 2022)
  • Double European Indoor 1500m and 3000m champion [1500m and 3000m)] (2018 and 2022)
  • Double Diamond League 1500m champion (2016 and 2018)
  • Commonwealth 1500m champion (2022)
  • Commonwealth 800m bronze medallist (2022)

Laura Muir (Mark Shearman)

Josh Kerr – pictured within the Mini Marathon in 2014 

  • Olympic 1500m bronze medallist (2021)
  • European and British 1500m Indoor record-holder (2022)

Josh Kerr (Mark Shearman)

Hannah Cockroft – pictured within the Mini Marathon in 2019 

  • Seven-time Paralympic champion (2012, 2016 and 2020)
  • 11-time world champion (2011, 2013, 2015, 2017 and 2019)
  • Three-time European champion (2014 and 2018)

Hannah Cockroft (Mark Shearman)

Jessica Judd  – pictured within the Mini Marathon in 2014 

  • World junior 800m silver medallist (2012)
  • World youth 800m bronze medallist (2011)
  • Double European junior cross nation staff champion (2012 and 2014)

Jess Judd (Mark Shearman)

Charlotte Purdue – pictured within the Mini Marathon in 2014 

  • Triple European junior cross nation champion (2007 and 2010)
  • Fourth all-time on the UK all-time marathon record

Charlotte Purdue (Mark Shearman)

Steph Twell – pictured within the Mini Marathon in 2007 

  • European 5000m bronze medallist (2016)
  • Commonwealth 1500m bronze medallist (2010)
  • World junior 1500m champion (2008)
  • European junior 1500m champion (2007)

Steph Twell (Mark Shearman)

» To subscribe to AW journal, CLICK HERE

Subscribe to the AW E-newsletter


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here